Pretty Lady: Nicky

17 May

MargitMae is excited to bring you a feature called Pretty Lady! In each Pretty Lady, a MargitMae reader will share her favorite products that keep her lovely and healthy. If you would like to participate as a Pretty Lady (or Pretty Man!), please shoot us an e-mail – we’d love to hear from you!

Meet MargitMae’s newest Pretty Lady, Nicky!

Nicky is a sassy, lovely Development Support Lead hailing from the fine city of Minneapolis.  She is ridiculously hilarious and shares MargitMae’s passion for the band Hanson (no judgement, please).  She spends her time hanging out with her badass dog Ninja, carousing around the city, and keeping the world up to date via Twitter.

I met Nicky through a mutual friend; I remember attending a party at her house, using the bathroom, and noting that she used many of the same natural products that I love.  Don’t worry – I didn’t go through medicine cabinets and behind the bathroom curtains, but did note what was placed out near the sink.  Still think I’m a creep?  Tough luck.  In any case, I asked Nicky to share some of her favorite products.  In her words, here are her top three:

  • Coconut Oil  For skin, for hair, for cooking… I use it on my hands and body for moisture and it also smells delicious. All natural! It’s also fabulous for makeup removal (the only thing that can really get eyeliner off of me) and if you need to make a chocolate ganache … it works for that, too! Or leave it in your hair and then wash it out when you need a moisture-boost!
  • Earth Science A-D-E Creamy Cleanser I use Earth Science A-D-E Creamy Cleanser to wash my face and Earth Science Almond Aloe Moisturizer
    which comes in an unscented version. I love scentless products since my skin is super-sensitive and doesn’t do well with smells. I also just can’t stand having a ton of smelly products on me. I’ve never had a problem with these products in terms of allergic reactions (which often happens to me!) and they are natural and light so you don’t feel like you’ve got a heavy layer on your skin after moisturizing.
  • The other product I swear by is my little soap scrubby thing, New England Naturals Earthline Exfoliating Sisal Soap Saver Bag,  that I’ve now been using instead of body wash for the last few years paired with a natural soap. I got the soap scrubber from Prairie Apothecary at the Uptown Market and paired with any natural soap product it is THE BEST THING EVER. I go to the Wedge and pick out one of their natural soap bars and put it in the soap baggy and the result is lathery cleanliness! I was tired of flowery body washes and wanted to use a natural soap but I don’t like just using bar soap on it’s own. This combo is my favorite. My top pick for soaps is SunLeaf Natural’s  OrangeGinger!

Thank you for sharing, Nicky!

Leave a Reply

