Pretty Lady: Erin

24 May

MargitMae is excited to bring you a feature called Pretty Lady! In each Pretty Lady, a MargitMae reader will share her favorite products that keep her lovely and healthy. If you would like to participate as a Pretty Lady (or Pretty Man!), please shoot us an e-mail – we’d love to hear from you!

Say hello to our newest Pretty Lady, Erin!

Erin and her baby, Paisley.

Ladies and gents, meet the lovely Erin.  This Wisconsin born beauty has a PhD in Biomedical Engineering and currently works as a Senior Scientist in the breezy city of San  Francisco.  When not spending time with her fiance, Tom, and her gorgeous feline friend, Paisley, Erin likes to spend her time planning her wedding, reading teen fiction on her Kindle, and engineering cool science projects with kids at the Lawrence Hall of Science.   She also happens to be a connoisseur of natural products.  In her own words, here are three of Erin’s top beauty secrets:

  • Bariani Olive Oil Company Face & Body Cream As a chemical engineer, I should love chemicals, right?  While I’m fond of them in the lab, I don’t love them on my body.  When I see an ingredient label with 35 things, I want to know what they are all doing and why they’re necessary.  My answer was to simplify and look for products with a few natural ingredients that made sense.  My favorite face and body lotion is Bariani Face & Body Lotion, which is sold just steps from my apartment at the Berkeley Farmers’ Market!   This lotion has only 3 ingredients (plus myrrh for the scented variety, which I highly recommend!)  Like a true engineer, I love to tinker, so naturally I asked, “How difficult could it be to just make this myself?” Answer: not very.  If you’re the tinkering type, try this simple recipe.  The best part is that it’s totally customizable!  Add your scent of choice, up the water to thin it out, or make a thicker lotion with more oil or beeswax.
  • The Oil Cleansing Method I’ve battled oily skin all of my life.  One day I had this crazy thought that maybe my constant need to exfoliate was not due to clogged pores, but dry skin.  I started using a heavy moisturizer, and to my surprise, it didn’t turn my face into a large grease ball; it actually made it LESS oily.  Looking into this phenomenon, I discovered the oil cleansing method.  The gist is this:  You never need to wash your face.  You just wipe it with oil, and it exchanges the fresh oil for the dirty oil on your face.  This prevents your face from drying out at the hands of harsh cleansers and thus lessens your face’s desire to produce oil to compensate for the dryness.  This method might not be for everyone, but it works amazingly well for me.  It even decreased the size of the gigantic pores on my nose!  I use a mixture of olive, jojoba, and castor oil.
  •  California Baby Calendula Shampoo and Body Wash I have blonde hair that tended to get oily about 24 hours post-washing.  I was an avid dry shampoo user (the powdered kind, not the aerosol), and this allowed me to control the oil at my roots.  The rest of my hair, however, was quite dry and looked like it could use some hydration. I ended up going ‘low poo’ with California Baby Calendula Shampoo and Body Wash.  This shampoo is sulfate-free, so it doesn’t dry out your scalp and hair.  After a few months of using it as my only hair product, I  can wait almost a week between washes with no sign of oil!  Being a minimalist, I love having only one product for my hair and knowing that it is not coating my golden locks in silicone (a common component of shampoos, conditioners, and all things ‘beauty’ related — look for ‘dimethicone’ on the ingredient list).  To add some shine and combat dryness, I massage coconut oil into my hair and shampoo the excess away.  You can leave it on overnight or for just an hour or so.  It smells delicious and actually helps repair your hair’s cuticle rather than just coating it.
There you have it!  Erin’s top three for staying healthy and beautiful.

Have you tried going ‘low poo’ or ‘no poo’?
One Response to “Pretty Lady: Erin”

  1. Lori June 1, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

    Awww Erin is a super pretty lady and so is her kitty cat!!! I am more and more thinking I need to jump on the oil cleansing train, I’ve heard so so many good things! PS lady friend, you should totally enter the giveaway on my blog for a gorgeous vintage apple necklace from Ally Hoot Vintage!!!! http://lorilynn-alittlesliceofspecial.blogspot.com/2012/05/ally-hoot-giveaway.html

Leave a Reply

